kcinhishands

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

As For Now… June 17, 2013

Filed under: Blogs — His Princess K @ 12:33 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 9

(Picture above: taken June 9, 2013)

It has been a very tiring, trying, stressful week for me, to say the least. But before I get into all of that let me ask for forgiveness. Will you forgive me? Forgive me for not doing as I promised…keeping you informed of my “going-ons” through written word. I can not even tell you how long I’ve been saying that I am going to write a new blog. Rest assured…I’m making myself available to do so. Thank you kindly for your patience and prayerfully your grace.

This week! It marked the start of our Summer Camp themed, “GoLEAD: Lead. Educate. Act. Disciple” 1 Timothy 4:11-12 “Get the word out. Teach all these things. And don’t let anyone put you down because you’re young. Teach believers with your life: by word, by demeanor, by love, by faith, by integrity.” I’m excited to share this scripture with the youth throughout the summer because not  only can I teach them a few things, but they too can teach me a few things. Empowerment!

The bulk of my time throughout the week is with our new High School Hub program. There are 10 LITs (Leaders In Training) who I am with from 2-5pm Tuesday through Thursday where we discuss service-learning and leadership development and have activities that go along with each topic. My first impression of the group was “Man, this group is on fire. I am totally looking forward to what the summer is going to bring”. Now, sadly, I’m thinking, “What happened?”.

Expectations. Expectations were not met. Why? Preconceived notions that this summer will be just like the last and the year before that. Am I discouraged? Just a tad, yet I’m still hopeful. Hopeful that the work that has been started will be completed.

I haven’t even told you why this was one of the worst weeks ever. Honestly, I don’t care to get into details about it either because God has healed and restored my heart and mind. To say that I am grateful to Him would be an understatement. The work week started off crazy and ended just as crazy, but right smack in the middle God called a referee time out. He saw that I needed to be pulled to the side for a review of the play. Wednesday night Bible study was just for me. Just for me! Isn’t that awesome? There was unnecessary roughness, shots being blocked, balls thrown into the stands, technical fouls and more last week and I was ready for it to be the final day of camp. BUT GOD!

He didn’t want me to, nor did He care for me to even try to take on all that last week had for me on my own. I realized my 1st year in college that I was thankful for trials and tribulations (I had this revelation Thanksgiving 2006). I’m thankful because every time that they come they push me more to be closer to God and rely on Him more than the last time. Every now and then we all need reminders that God is the one carrying us and not ourselves. I heard a great example of that today. A minister in Papa New Guinea called my current pastor at 3:37am asking him to pray for his mother because there was nothing more that the doctors could do. This man knew that only God could heal his mother. In a country where privileges and resources abound, we tend to put more trust in man and machine first hand because we know that doctors and defibrillators are supposed to help keep us alive. Well, what if we didn’t have these luxuries? Would our first response be to trust God? Just something to think about.

All in all, I am trusting God to do what He wants to do with my time here in Jackson. I am praying for contentment and peace (daily, daily, daily). My absolute favorite part of being here is knowing that I am growing spiritually. Despite the frustrations, stress, and sickness I am counting it all good because I know God is working out a great thing. He already knows my destination, I just have to journey through hand in hand with Him.

 

Leave a Reply

