kcinhishands

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Speak Up!….Later December 21, 2013

Filed under: Blogs — His Princess K @ 4:17 am

My throat has given me problems since late last week. On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being very little, I’d say the pain level was a 1. It irritated me more than it caused me pain. Well, yesterday (Thursday, December 19th) I was hanging out with my family at a restaurant from 3:30-11:00pm. Yes, that time is indeed correct. To say I was a BIT overwhelmed yesterday is an understatement. I had my occasional one cough every other hour, but other than that my throat was the same as it has been for the past week. Around 7:30 I began to speak and realized I no longer had my regular tone. What the crap?! Confused? Of course! I had did nothing out of the ordinary. It took so much out of me just to speak. Last night I tried to sing (it’s one of my favorite things to do, although I’m not a very good singer) it was horrendous. Not so much the sound, but  the pain and strain.

When I woke up today my voice was much worse. I made a doc’s appointment and found out that I have Pharyngitis, Acute. My sister told me exactly what it was days ago actually. I have had frequent headaches recently and Ibuprofen only relieved them for 30 minutes. Ironically enough I am allergic to two allergy pills. The options that remain are Benadryl and a nasal spray. Fingers crossed!

So why am I writing today? I was inspired. Since my throat was really bad this morning, I decided to research some remedies by Googling, “I lost my voice. How do I get it back”? Immediately after I finished typing my mind seemed to race. Go back and read what I said I typed into the search engine.

I needed the answer to a physical problem, yet some of us have been with this “pain” in other areas of our lives. Truthfully, I feel that way right now. I have lost my voice and I want to know how to get it back. Man, that is crazy! How does one gain their voice again? How do you let someone or something diminish who you are? After all, your voice, your opinion, your freedom of speech is a way to represent yourself and share your beliefs. Funny how I’m appreciative of this setback because it has caused me to look at my life in a different perspective. To get my voice back, I must sit back, evaluate, and let my throat/mind heal. Talking right now just for the sake of doing so will not benefit me now or in the future. I’m speaking of my physical body now and my voice determining my future.

On to the healing….

 

Leave a Reply

